Saturday, July 12, 2014


About the book

When a fourteen-year-old runs away, her parents turn to social media to find her—launching a public campaign that will expose their darkest secrets and change their family forever, in this suspenseful and gripping debut for fans of Reconstructing Amelia and Gone Girl.

Don’t try to find me. Though the message on the kitchen white board is written in Marley’s hand, her mother Rachel knows there has to be some other explanation. Marley would never run away.

As the days pass and it sinks in that the impossible has occurred, Rachel and her husband Paul are informed that the police have “limited resources.” If they want their fourteen-year-old daughter back, they will have to find her themselves. Desperation becomes determination when Paul turns to Facebook and Twitter, and launches

But Marley isn’t the only one with secrets.

With public exposure comes scrutiny, and when Rachel blows a television interview, the dirty speculation begins. Now, the blogosphere is convinced Rachel is hiding something. It’s not what they think; Rachel would never hurt Marley. Not intentionally, anyway. But when it’s discovered that she’s lied, even to the police, the devoted mother becomes a suspect in Marley’s disappearance.

Is Marley out there somewhere, watching it all happen, or is the truth something far worse?

Amazon Purchase Link: Don't Try To Find Me
William Morrow Publishers (July 8, 2014)
My Rating: 4/5 stars

My thoughts...

Marley has run away to meet her online boyfriend who lives across the country, leaving a note for her parents that says "Don't try to find me". Having recently relocated she has no friends in her new school and has not stayed in contact with friends from the former school her parents have little to go on. As her parents put all they have into finding her things about her mother are exposed.

I found this to be a well written drama with a hint of mystery, a story about family secrets and relationships though I wasn't able to connect with the characters like I wanted. Overall a pretty good debut novel.

I received a free copy of this book from Harper Collins Publishers in exchange for an honest review.

No comments: